Part-time Disabled Students' Allowances


Who is eligible?

To be eligible for part-time Disabled Students’ Allowances (DSAs), students must meet the definition of disability under the Equality Act 2010 and:

  • be a part-time undergraduate student (including Open University or distance learning)
  • have a condition that affects their ability to study
  • qualify for student finance
  • be studying on a course that lasts at least a year

Who isn’t eligible?

They cannot get DSAs if they’re:

  • an EU student
  • eligible for an NHS Disabled Students' Allowance, which is a separate scheme
  • getting equivalent support from another funding source, such as their university or a social work bursary


The course must be in the UK and a:

  • first degree, for example BA, BSc or BEd
  • Foundation Degree
  • Certificate of Higher Education
  • Diploma of Higher Education (DipHE)
  • Higher National Certificate (HNC)
  • Higher National Diploma (HND)
  • Postgraduate Certificate of Education (PGCE)
  • Initial Teacher Training

If students are not sure whether their course qualifies for student finance, they should check with their university or college.

Course intensity

Students must be studying at an intensity of at least 25% to get DSAs. They’ll also need to know the number of module credits they’ll be studying in the academic year when they apply.

If they are not sure of their module credits or course intensity, they should check with their university or college.

Previous study

Previous study won’t affect their eligibility for DSAs, even if they've already had financial support.

But, if they've had DSAs for any specialist equipment for a previous course, this will be taken into account.

Studying abroad

If they’re studying abroad, they may be able to get DSAs while attending an overseas university or college as part of their UK course.